Buttermilk Waffles with Blueberry Compote


A great weekend morning breakfast or another breakfast for dinner! Love breakfast anytime, as you know by now! I have a waffle iron but haven’t used it in {cringing} years. I don’t know why. I think it gets tucked away and forgotten. I love waffles. I love pancakes and I think of them first for some reason so they get made more often but I was craving the crispy nooks and crannies of a good waffle drenched in syrup today. Not just any syrup though: blueberry compote. I know, what a fancy word, “compote”. It basically just means fruit cooked or stewed in a syrup. Not scary stuff at all. Yummy stuff. Blueberries are rapidly vanishes at the grocery stores around here (or at least for a decent price) so I thought I’d use ’em before I start missing ’em.

WP_20130913_010

I have to admit that I have tweaked this recipe a bit from the version I made tonight. When I cooked it, although delicious. I found the waffles weren’t as sweet as I would like them to be and generally just needed the flavor amped up. So… I swapped the milk for buttermilk, upped the sugar and doubled the vanilla. Nom nom. A trick for buttermilk: you can make an excellent substitute for it with fresh lemon juice and regular old milk. The general rule is to place one tablespoon into a measuring cup and fill up to the one cup measurement to make one cup worth of “buttermilk”. Let this stand for 5 minutes to “sour” the milk and give it a stir. Voila! You can also make real buttermilk if you have heavy cream laying around: shake it in a sealed jar until it separates: the solid is butter and the liquid is buttermilk. Cool stuff. Who knew?

WP_20130913_006

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (BUTTERMILK WAFFLES PDF)***

Buttermilk Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. fine kosher or sea salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 5 tbsp. granulated white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ cup room temperature buttermilk
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon (optional)
  • ¼ tsp. fresh ground nutmeg (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions
  • In a large bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg (if using)
  • In a separate bowl, beat the eggs. Stir in the milk, butter and vanilla
  • Pour milk mixture into the flour mixture and beat until just blended (don’t over mix)

WP_20130913_004

  • Spray waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray
  • Ladle the batter into prepared waffle iron and cook according to manufacturer’s directions, until golden and crispy
  • Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree F oven
  • Butter your waffles after cooking if desired. I always butter my waffles and pancakes while they are still hot!

 

i realize it's a bit blurry- the steam from the pot got on the lens! sorry! lol

i realize it’s a bit blurry- the steam from the pot got on the lens! sorry! lol

 

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (BLUEBERRY COMPOTE PDF)***

Blueberry Compote

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups fresh or frozen blueberries, rinsed
  • 3 tbsp. mild honey (such as orange blossom)
  • 3 tbsp. granulated sugar (you can cut back or increase depending on the sweetness of your fruit, to personal preference)
  • ½ cup fresh squeezed orange juice (bottled if you must- you just many want to cut back on the added sugar depending on the brand you use)
  • 1 tbsp. cornstarch
  • A pinch of each cinnamon and fresh nutmeg (optional)

Directions:

  • In a medium saucepan over medium heat, mix the blueberries, honey, sugar and ¼ cup orange juice
  • Bring to a low boil, stirring frequently (it won’t take long and you don’t want to burn the sugar or have an overflow)
  • Mix remaining orange juice and cornstarch in a small bowl to dissolve the cornstarch
  • Stir cornstarch mix into the blueberry mixture
  • Stir constantly until thickened
  • Season with cinnamon and nutmeg, if using

This compote would be delicious on pancakes, over biscuits, on toast, or in a crepe. Yum yum! I may try canning this to have around when I can’t get blueberries!

OF COURSE these waffles be amazing with some freshly whipped cream… But I used all my heavy cream on another project so I was out of luck! Honestly, I didn’t miss it though as I was in blueberry heaven.

🙂

10 responses to “Buttermilk Waffles with Blueberry Compote

    • In the post I described how to make a substitute for buttermilk with regular milk and lemon juice. That usually works nicely for me. You could us vinegar inplace of the lemon juice as well. I suppose you could just use plain milk as well but it might be missing that “tang”. Hope this helps!

  1. mmmm, gotta have ’em. Just made some butter, so have the buttermilk. I make my butter in a zip lock bag, just roll it around in my hands until the butter forms, and pour the buttermilk off into another bag, strain the butter thru cheesecloth to get all of the milk out and form a ball, or measure out in half cups, and wrap in plastic wrap to keep in fridge. Keep the cheesecloth to butter baking pans or cookie sheets. You don’t lose any of it that way.

      • It really works well, and after you use all of the butter the cheesecloth can be washed and reused. I’m very frugal about things like that, or maybe just cheap, but I learned to reuse things as a child, and it just stuck in my mind.

      • Very true. I’ve been using things until they literally fall apart all my life. When clothes are no longer wearable, I cut out the parts that are not falling to pieces and use them in quilts. No waste that way. Only things that are thrown away are the ones that hit the floor when I knock ’em off the shelf and destroy ’em.

Leave a Reply

