Egg White Omelette with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes


 

I think I got tired of freezing, or worse yet, throwing away all of those egg whites that have been left behind when I’ve made ice cream. And I’ve made a lot of ice cream this summer/early fall as you know if you’ve been following my blog. I know they are a good thing to have in the freezer. In fact, freezing them individually in ice cube trays is an excellent way to keep them easily accessible for that next meringue, macaroon or angel food cake you want to “whip” up. Ha ha. Am I funny? Hmmm, no? Oh well, I tried. 😛

Seriously though, I have so many bags of egg whites labeled and stored in my freezer, I really just don’t need anymore! So after this last batch of ice cream, which left me with 9 whites and one yolk (yes, while separating one of the eggs, I broke a yolk and it dripped into my container of whites), I decided I needed to make something with them, like immediately.

Anyhow… I really wanted to make an angel food cake but I still haven’t gotten around to buying the right kind of tube pan for it with the removable bottom. So that was off the table. Digging around the internet for some inspiration was making me hungry and simplicity was starting to sound better and better, so egg white omelet was decided upon! Simple and fast to put together and quite healthy. Loaded with protein. I cooked this a bit different than a regular white and yolk omelet, in that I finished under the broiler rather than by covering the pan and letting the eggs set from the steam. I suppose that would have worked but I think this was was actually faster, did a nice job and left the eggs nice and moist and fluffy! I couldn’t actually believe how fluffy this omelet came out but I guess I should have, since egg whites can really hold a lot of air. So that is an important step in this recipe: incorporating enough air into the whites. You obviously don’t want to turn them into hard peaks but just give them a good whipping to break up some of that albumin in there.

WP_20130914_031

 

Since egg whites have very little fat in them I decided it would be very important to maximize on the flavor of the ingredients I added to them. Bacon was in the fridge so I cut that into lardons (fancy name for small piece of some type of pork fat) and rendered it a bit. I removed the bacon and cooked the omelet in the pan with the fat (in place of butter) to add another layer of flavor. Now I realize what you’re thinking: egg white omelets are supposed to be healthy and you’re adding bacon to it? Yes, yes I know. But if you’re taking away some of the fat and calories by removing the yolks, can’t you afford to splurge on a little bit of bacon? Go ahead and omit the bacon or use a leaner meat like ham if you will, but the bacon was quite good. If you go that route, either spray the pan with some cooking spray or melt some butter in there (but then you might be missing the supposed “point” again, lol).

I love tomatoes in omelets and I happened to have a small paper bag full of cherry tomatoes, fresh from the garden just begging to be eaten. I had planned to just cut them up and add them into the omelet but then I got to thinking about that “maximizing the flavor” idea and decided it would be even better to roast them with some oil, balsamic and seasoning and then add them. GOOD life choice. And I’m so happy to have the rest of the batch in the fridge now because they are rockin’ on burgers and sandwiches!

WP_20130914_017

 

Besides the bacon and the roasted tomatoes, I added some pepper jack cheese then just salt and pepper (don’t forget to season your eggs or they will be quite bland). I think if I had had some scallions in the fridge I would have added those to this as well but it was awesome the way it was. Use all egg whites if you wish or add in a yolk or two if you desire. I think if you added about 2 yolks to this recipe you would barely miss the rest of them. I thoroughly enjoyed this omelet and will be making more of these in the future in the egg-white-wake of a batch of ice cream.

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (ROASTED CHERRY TOMATOES PDF)***

Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. Cherry Tomatoes
  • Good quality olive oil
  • Good quality balsamic vinegar
  • Kosher salt
  • Fresh cracked black pepper
  • Dry Italian seasoning

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone non-stick mat. Position rack in center position
  • Wash tomatoes and remove any stems, dry and place on the sheet pan
  • Drizzle lightly with olive oil and balsamic vinegar
  • Sprinkle with about 1 tbsp. kosher salt, 1 tsp. black pepper and ½ tbsp. Italian seasoning (all to taste)
  • Using your hands, toss the tomatoes to coat with the oil, vinegar and seasonings thoroughly and evenly

WP_20130914_001

  • Place sheet in oven and bake for about 15 minutes or until tomatoes have “popped” and are wilted looking

WP_20130914_006

  • Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly before serving
  • Store leftovers in air tight container refrigerator and serve leftovers cold or reheated

WP_20130914_029

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (EGG WHITE OMELET PDF)***

Egg White Omelet

Ingredients:

  • 8 egg whites (you can throw in a yolk or two if desired)
  • 2 tbsp. milk
  • 2 slices thick cut bacon, cut into lardons
  • Roasted cherry tomatoes (or raw cut tomatoes if you prefer), roughly chopped or ripped
  • ½ cup shredded cheese, or two slices
  • Kosher salt
  • Fresh cracked black pepper
  • Toast to serve alongside, if desired

Directions:

  • Preheat broiler to low
  • Place bacon in a 10-inch non-stick sauté pan and cook over medium heat (starting when the pan is still cold) until fat is rendered and bacon is crispy. Remove with slotted spoon to a paper-towel lined plate. Leave the pan on the stove over medium heat with the bacon grease in it
  • Beat the eggs whites (and additional yolk or two, if using) with the milk in a medium bowl thoroughly. Use an immersion blender if you prefer- you want to really add some air
  • Pour the egg whites into the pan and cook, undisturbed, for about 5 minutes
  • Sprinkle with bacon, tomatoes, cheese and salt and pepper, to taste

WP_20130914_021

  • Place pan in the oven and cook until the top is just set (be sure to remove any heat-proof handle on the pan before putting in oven). This should only take a couple of minutes

WP_20130914_023

  • Remove from oven with potholder and fold omelet in half
  • Gently slide out of pan onto serving plate with the help of a spatula
  • Serve with toast if desired
5 responses to “Egg White Omelette with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Naan Pizza with Cilantro Yogurt Sauce | therapy bread·

Leave a Reply

