Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies


Nom nom nom. This one is right up my ally. It is just what the title suggests it is and it did not disappoint me. It is thick and chewy with dark brown sugar, peanut buttery, chocolaty and has some crunch from the bits of peanuts and chocolate chips.

WP_20130918_012

 

I stumbled across this recipe on two blogs that I follow actually and decided it was time to make them for myself. These cookies are featured on Tasty Kitchen Blog and on Crunchy Creamy Sweet (which are both excellent, might I add). I think that Crunch Creamy Sweet originally adapted this recipe from a peanut butter cookies recipe from Joy the Baker and then Tasty Kitchen Blog adapted that adapted recipe. And now I’m adapting their recipe. LOL. I guess that’s the beauty of this online food community we are a part of: we can share and be inspired by one another. It is a wonderful thing. And SO are these cookies! I want to go to back to the “origins” of these sometime and make the original peanut butter cookie from which they are derived. The genealogy of cookies. Hahaha.

So this is a SUPER simple cookie recipe and I don’t really think it’s possible to screw it up (unless maybe you don’t chill the dough long enough as it does need to set up a bit, but even then it would probably be delicious). There is no creaming of butter, no bringing ingredients to room temperature and no flour or granulated sugar to make a mess of your kitchen! You can throw this dough together in a stand mixer or mix by hand in only a few minutes. I felt that I was doing something wrong while I was making this dough because it was such a no-brainer, so I went back and triple read the recipe and nope, I was doing it right. So I just had to trust that the cookies would turn out and boy did they! I made a couple of changes to the recipe: I used chunky peanut butter instead of creamy because I like the bits of peanuts in my cookies (you could use creamy if you prefer, or creamy with some chopped peanuts), I add 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and a pinch of salt for some extra flavor and I used bittersweet chocolate chips (instead of semi-sweet) and mixed some of them into the dough rather than just topping them with it.

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (THICK AND CHEWY CHOCOLATE CHIP PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE PDF)***

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chunky peanut butter (or creamy if preferred)
  • 1 cup packed dark brown sugar (dark adds a bit more depth of flavor than light brown sugar in this recipe but use light if you prefer)
  • 3 tbsp. unsweetened dark cocoa powder (or regular unsweetened if you prefer, the color just won’t be as deep)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • Pinch of fine kosher or sea salt
  • ½ cup bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Place all ingredients, except the chocolate chips, in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and mix together until combined. Alternately, mix together by hand in a large bowl (dough is thick so you will have to put some back into it)
  • Mix in the chocolate chips, reserving a few to press into the tops of the cookies, if desired

WP_20130918_002

 

  • Chill the dough for at least 1 hour, preferably overnight
  • When the dough is chilled, preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Scoop the dough onto a parchment or sil-pat-lined half sheet tray using a cookie portioner or tablespoon
  • Flatten each scoop into a ½-inch thick disk with the bottom of a cup or palm of your hand. If the sides split, press back together gently into circle
  • Press remaining chocolate chips into the tops of the cookies, if desired

WP_20130918_006

 

  • If the dough becomes warm while forming the cookies, pop the sheet tray into the freezer for a few minutes (starting with chilled dough is part of the key to achieving chewy cookies in this recipe)
  • Bake the cookies in the preheated oven for 8-12 minutes (depending on your oven and size of the cookies)
  • Due to the color of these cookies, you will not be able to see them browning so remove from oven when they are puffy and the tops are cracked looking. They will still be quite soft to the touch
  • Remove from oven and let cool on the cookie sheets until they are set and can be removed without falling apart (about 15 minutes)
  • Cool completely and store in airtight container

WP_20130918_008

 

*Note the rich, dark color of these cookies. That is due to using dark chocolate cocoa powder. If you opt to use regular cocoa powder, the color will be much lighter than this, still delicious but not quite as deep a flavor. I am just a dark chocolate lover so I substitute bittersweet or dark chocolate for milk and semi-sweet always! The flavor is just more intensely chocolate which makes for a happy Jess. 🙂

 

6 responses to “Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Jess, you’re a hard person to have for an online friend. I’m gonna have to make these, and you probably knew it when you posted it. I’ll eat only one or ten and freeze the rest for the kids the next time they come in. Yeah, like that’s gonna happen.

    • Well luckily this doesn’t make a huge batch- only like 12 cookies. I’m sorry, I have to admit I did think “oh boy angie’s going to have a heart attack when I post this one”. LOL. You know you love me 😉

      • Yeah, I do. And if it only makes 12, I’ll eat ’em all myself. I’ll just try not to do it all in one day. Maybe just bake one or two a day. And believe me, I can make a mess doing this without any problem at all.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Caramel Peanut Butter Bars | Crumbs and Tea·

  3. Pingback: Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies | Inspirations Recipes·

  4. Pingback: Triple Chocolate Cookies | Remote Control-Proof·

Leave a Reply

