Naan Pizza with Cilantro Yogurt Sauce


I guess you might be able to tell by now that I really like the Naan bread that I made the other day. This is the third post it’s been referenced in already! Ha. It is good stuff. And very versatile it turns out! With the final two pieces left from my batch earlier in the week I decided to come up with something quick and delicious for dinner: naan pizza!

WP_20130919_012

I mentioned in my Chicken Kafta Masala post that I had frozen half of the meat balls made for the recipe. What better topping for a naan pizza? I pulled out enough to top two small pizzas (8 in this case), thawed them in the fridge overnight, baked them at 350 degrees F for about 15 minutes (or until they read 160 degrees in the center), and then sliced them in half and topped my masterpieces with them! YUM!

Since the dish they were originally made for was garnished with cilantro, and because I still had a good amount of it in the fridge, I decided to make a “pizza sauce” with the cilantro. I thought about making a tomato-based sauce but decided against it because I wanted to also top my pizzas with roasted cherry tomatoes. I thought maybe a yogurt-based sauce since yogurt was used in the original curry dish. Thus, cilantro yogurt sauce as my pizza sauce! Good life choice! I added some lemon to freshen it up and some onion, garlic and cayenne for extra flavor. Since I used a 0% Greek Yogurt (fat free) I wanted to add a little bit of fat to make the sauce more velvety and creamy so I added a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. What an easy and delicious concoction! This would also be wonderful as a veggie or pita chip dip. I think I would like to try it on-top of a burger as well! It is very bright and fresh tasting and full of flavor from the grated onion. I used a mircoplane to grate my onion so it basically turned into a liquidy paste and that way no one would be biting into pieces of raw onion. I often do this with onion in raw applications where I just want the “essence” of onion but not the texture. I let this sit in the fridge for an hour to let the flavors meld together, checked for seasoning and then topped my pizza “crust” with it.

Naan makes a great pizza crust because it has a bit of chew (which is good in a pizza crust) and also gets nice and crispy when you cook it a second time in the oven! I found that the thinner pieces of naan are especially well-suited for this. So if you think you’ve made some naan that’s too thin or even over-cooked, save it for this! I started out by heating my pizza stone at 450 degrees F. I cooked my first pizza on the stone at 450 for about 12 minutes. The problem with this method is that the cheese never really got that golden bubbly look and I was afraid that if I cooked it much longer to try and achieve it, that I would end up waaaaay over-cooking the crust. So for the second pizza, I turned the broiler on and cooked my pizza on the stone, under the broiler for about 7 minutes. Perfection! I even threw the original one back in briefly to let the cheese darken a bit!

These pizzas are crunchy, a bit chewy, cheesy, creamy and packed-full of flavor! Of course if you don’t have the kafta meatballs, any meatball would do- especially a turkey or chicken one as I think the flavor profile here might be a bit overpowered by beef. But feel free to do what you wish! I think that if I didn’t have the meatballs I would go with a veggie-version of this. Some mushrooms, sliced onions and maybe some sliced green pepper would be fantastic on this!

WP_20130919_001

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (CILANTRO YOGURT SAUCE PDF)***

Cilantro Yogurt Sauce

*Use this as a base for Naan Pizza, as a dip, a sandwich spread, in omelets and frittatas or as a topping for a savory crepe (or for whatever else you can think up).

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt (non-fat or full-fat, your choice)
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • Half a small onion, peeled and grated (I used a micro plane which basically turns the onion into a paste)
  • 2-3 tbsp. finely chopped fresh cilantro (more or less, to taste)
  • ½ tsp. kosher or sea salt (or to taste)
  • ¼ tsp. white pepper (can use black pepper if you prefer but I like the look of the white pepper in this)
  • ½ tsp. granulated garlic or garlic powder
  • Drizzle of extra virgin olive oil (about a half tbsp.)
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients together in medium sized bowl
  • Check for seasoning and adjust to taste
  • Chill at least one hour before serving or using

WP_20130919_013

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (NAAN PIZZA)***

Naan Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 2 pieces of pre-cooked naan bread
  • 1/2 cup cilantro yogurt sauce
  • Roasted cherry tomatoes (or veggies of choice)
  • Halved kafta or poultry meatballs
  • 1 cup of shredded mozzarella or 4 slices of fresh or torn mozzarella
  • Kosher salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Cilantro for garnish

Directions:

  • Preheat oven with pizza stone in it to 450 degrees F
  • Assemble pizzas: sauce, veggies, meat, cheese, sprinkle of salt, drizzle of oil

WP_20130919_009

  • Right before placing pizzas in oven, turn broiler on to low (depending on oven)
  • Cook pizzas for 5-10 minutes monitoring carefully, or until the cheese is golden and bubbly
  • Remove from oven
  • Garnish with cilantro (if desired)
  • Cut into slices and serve

I will never cut a batch of naan in half when I make it! The possibilities with the leftover flatbread are seemingly endless! I bet you could even make a version of a “gyro” with these ingredients! The cilantro yogurt sauce has a lot of similarities to tzatziki! And you could use the kafta meatballs in place of the gyro meat! Nom nom nom… Now if only I had MORE…

I also wanted to mention that part of my inspiration in making this was from reading a post from a fellow blogger, stormotter! Thanks for the inspiration!

14 responses to “Naan Pizza with Cilantro Yogurt Sauce

  1. That looks really good. I’ve used a lot of leftover breads, buns, whatever I have to make mini pizzas. Still haven’t received my Kafta Marsala yet, but hoping in the next few days it will arrive. Recipe in hot little hands waiting, and misshapen stromboli in the meantime.

  2. Pingback: Creamy Cilantro Dressing Recipe | Nosh My Way·

  3. Another reply as Kentucky Angel, so I could hit the follow button. It looks even better tonight than the first time I saw it. I just had a friend pick up some flat bread for me so I can make a veggie sandwich. Now just have to find my colander to wash the fresh (?) veggies and grapes.

  4. Found the colander almost out of reach, but had a great veggie sub yesterday. Rehydrated veggies from last summer mainly, but also the fresh greens, sliced a few olives, and you would have had the laugh of your life watching me slice the cheese with one hand. Fortunately it melts, so you couldn’t tell after a few seconds in the microwave before adding the veggies. Pigged out on the whole 12 inches.

  5. Thanks for following this blog. I am getting it started as soon as I can;)Have fun Culinary is fun.

Leave a Reply

