Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies


You can’t really beat a well made, classic chocolate chip cookie. I have a go-to recipe that comes from The Art and Soul of Baking by Sur La Table but decided to try something new today (don’t worry I will get around to posting that other one). I read a review of the chocolate chip cookie recipe from Cooks and figured it must be good so I would give it a try. Cooks and America’s Test Kitchen exhaustively test ingredients, techniques and recipes until they find their “best” version of it and that’s what they publish. So I figured this cookie must be good. It claims to be chewy and full of flavor. I will say that I am not disappointed. In fact, I have decided that these cookies are very dangerous for me to have around. I feel the constant need to Hoover them down knowing that they are a short distance away in the kitchen…

WP_20131012_010

They aren’t the prettiest cookies I’ve ever made, however. I was surprised at how much they spread during baking, although I guess I shouldn’t have been since there is melted butter in the dough, rather than the traditional softened butter. The butter is first cooked to brown it a bit and bring out the nutty flavors in it. I’m sure this is where much of the addictive flavor that I can’t resist is coming from… So anyway, my warning to you is to actually only cook six cookies per sheet or they will spread together, as mine did. When the cookies were fresh out of the oven, I used the edge of a spatula to push the cookies apart and “reform” the edges a bit so unless I told you they had baked together, you likely never would have known after the fact. So no big tragedy there. Besides, I am always trying to make my cookie batches fit on only two sheets because for some reason I still only own two good half sheet pans. The other cookie sheets I have I refuse to bake on because they always overcook the bottoms. I think I ranted about this in a past post a bit. Do yourself a favor, and pick up some basic aluminum half sheet trays. Nothing fancy. In my case, I should do myself a favor and pick up two more.

WP_20131012_007

I recommend you use high quality chocolate chips or chunk up a good chocolate bar as the chocolate really does shine in this recipe, as the cookies are not very thick. I always have bittersweet dark chocolate Ghiradelli chips on hand so this is what I used. I also added walnuts to this because I think any self-respecting chocolate chip cookie should have some, but you can choose to omit this if you like.

These are chewy, buttery, flavorful and have just the right amount of salt that serves to accentuate the other flavors in the cookies so I compel you to give these a try! See if you can keep your hands off of them. The process for making these is a bit different than what you would expect for chocolate chip cookies so read the recipe through before proceeding. It is just as easy, just different. I do plan to make another batch in the near future and refrigerate the dough before baking to see the effect that it has. I am hypothesizing that they will spread less but I hope that it doesn’t detract from the chewy nature of these cookies. For now, I will try to limit my cookie intake. I guess I will have to give some away but I don’t know if I can bring myself to do that…

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (CHEWY CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES PDF)***

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

(from Cook’s Illustrated May/June 2009 issue)

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¾ cup unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 14 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • ½ cup granulated white sugar
  • ¾ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. fine kosher or sea salt
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 ¼ chocolate chips or chunks (I used bittersweet Ghiradelli chips which I highly recommend but you could use semi-sweet)
  • ¾ cup chopped walnuts, optional (you could toast them if you like or use pecans instead)

Directions:

  • In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt 10 tbsp. of the butter and cook until it starts to brown and smell nutty, stirring frequently
  • Remove from heat and cool for 2 minutes, then pour into the mixing bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and stir in the remaining 4 tbsp. of butter, stirring to melt
  • Add both sugars, salt and vanilla and mix for 30 seconds

WP_20131012_002

  • Add the egg and egg yolk (do not beat ahead of time) and mix for 30 seconds
  • Let the mixture rest for 3 minutes
  • Mix again for 30 seconds
  • Let rest for 3 minutes again
  • Repeat process until the mixture is thick and pale in color (I had to repeat about 3 times)

WP_20131012_003

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line baking sheets with parchment or silicone baking mats
  • Whisk together the baking soda and flour
  • Remove bowl from stand mixer and, using a rubber spatula, fold in the flour mixture until almost incorporated

WP_20131012_004

  • Fold in the chocolate chips and walnuts

WP_20131012_005

  • Scoop the dough out with a cookie portioner or tablespoon, placing 6 mounds on each sheet, as this dough will spread (you could refrigerate dough before baking to prevent so much spreading)

WP_20131012_006

  • Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown
  • Cool for 5 minutes on baking sheet and then remove to cooling rack. You may choose to fully cool on your baking sheets if desired, just be sure not to overcook in the oven as the heat will continue to cook the bottoms of the cookies a bit as they set
WP_20131012_009

See, I had to push the cookies apart a bit but they look fine as long as you do that while they are still quite warm! But next time I’ll just bake fewer per sheet.

One response to “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I don’t usually bake cookies any more, but these just look too good to pass up. I have the chocolate chips, have the butter I made myself, so there’s no excuse to not make them. Jess, you’re trying to make me fat.

Leave a Reply

