Carbonara Frittata


This is worlds colliding: carbonara and fritta. Unlikely duo? Not really. Carbonara is an Italian spaghetti dish with an egg “sauce” and usually either bacon or pancetta and a generous amount of some salty Italian cheese like Pecorino or Parmesan. Sometimes there are peas in the dish, other times not. I normally add them but I was plum out of them in the freezer somehow so I went sans peas tonight. Still delicious. Frittata is basically an “open-faced” baked omelette. So this is like a baked omelette with pasta, pancetta and cheese in it. What’s not to love? And I did love it. Believe me, I wanted to eat the whole thing by myself. The pasta really adds a nice textural element and beefs up the already satisfying frittata to a whole new level. I think I will try creating more frittatas containing pasta in the future.

WP_20131018_003

This recipe is from Anne Burrell’s new cookbook Own Your Kitchen which I am loving already. I love Anne Burrell. She is kindof wacky and cooks with authority and makes my kind of food. This is not diet food but it is oh-so-delicious and satisfying, as her dishes always are. I have her first cookbook (Cook Like a Rock Star) which is full of mouth-watering treasures that never fail to disappoint. Tonight was my first project from the new book but I’m sure everything will be as wonderful as the first, so I don’t hesitate to recommend both to you. Two things I have learned from her (among many) are to 1) Read recipes from start to finishing before beginning so there are not surprises and 2) Prepare your Mis En Place before beginning to cook- basically meaning have all of your ingredients and equipment prepped and at the ready. I try to follow both of these and when I fail to it comes back to bite me part way through and I regret my earlier haste, lol. Take the time to do both!

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (CARBONARA FRITTATA PDF)***

Carbonara Frittata

(from Own Your Kitchen by: Anne Burrell)

Ingredients:

  • ½ pound pancetta (or bacon) cut into ¼-inch dice
  • 6 large eggs, beaten
  • ¾ cup grated Pecorino (or Parmesan if you prefer) Cheese
  • ½ tsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • ¼ lb. spaghetti, cooked in salted water for 8 minutes, drained and then cooled slightly
  • ½ cup frozen peas, optional
  • Snipped fresh chives for garnish

 

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F
  • Cook the pancetta in a 12-inch ovenproof nonstick sauté pan or skillet over medium-high heat until brown and crispy, about 8 minutes
  • Meanwhile, in a medium bowl combine the eggs, cheese, pepper and salt to taste (remember your cheese is salty so don’t over-do it)
  • When the pancetta is brown and crispy, add the egg mixture and the pasta to the pan and mix to combine. Add the peas as this time as well, if using.

IMG_3491

 

  • Lower heat to medium and cook until the eggs are set around the edges
  • Put the whole pan in the oven for another 5-8 minutes or until the eggs are set in the center
  • Remove pan from oven and slide frittata out of pan using the spatula to loosen the edges
  • Sprinkle with the chives and serve immediately or at room temperature

WP_20131018_007

 

*Note: in the original recipe two 8-inch frittatas are made instead of one large one so if you prefer to do that, use half of each ingredient in each one and cook separately

7 responses to “Carbonara Frittata

  1. I like Anne Burrell too, and have been thinking about making another frittata. I’m wondering if I could use my spaghetti squash in this. With some fresh mint. Don’t really like the spaghetti squash with pasta sauce, so am going to try part of it with salsa, but there will be enough to put some in the frittata also. Little bells going off in my head right now. Stand back — could be another train wreck coming up.

  2. Pingback: Spaghetti Carbonara | therapy bread·

Leave a Reply

