Peanut Butter Pancakes


Who doesn’t love peanut butter? As you know if you’ve been reading my posts, I LOVE peanut butter. So when I woke up this morning craving pancakes I thought to myself, why not take it up a notch and add peanut butter to the mix? Good life choice. These are a bit indulgent and sort-of like dessert for breakfast, especially if you add chocolate chips and crushed Nutter Butters to some of them like I did, but it’s OK to treat yourself once in a while. Or at least that’s what I’ll tell myself. Lol. I think I would also like to try these with some sort of fruit syrup or warmed jam to have a peanut butter and jelly pancake breakfast!

WP_20131020_012

These are no more difficult that making your standard pancakes. Just a little bit of tweaking. I used evaporated milk in this recipe because somehow I was out of regular milk and since I was still in my PJ’s, I wanted to make do with what I had on hand. So I looked up online how to substitute evaporated milk for regular milk. Some sites said to just use it in place of the milk 1:1, with the understanding that it would produce a richer product. Others said to use half the amount of evaporated milk and water for the other half to dilute it a bit. I thought about using half water but realized I would be left with a partial can of evaporated milk in the fridge which would inevitably end up in the garbage, even with my good intentions of planning to find a way to use it up. So yea, I just used the whole 12 oz. can. If you prefer to use regular milk, just use about 1 1/2 cups instead. The amount of milk you need will depend on how thick you would like your batter.

A word of caution on that last bit: don’t make your batter too thick as these tend to brown quickly! If you make it too thick it will take too long to get the middle cooked and the outside will begin to burn. My pancakes turned out a bit dark but were not burned at all, just darker than I’m used to my pancakes being. Don’t be alarmed but do flip them a bit before you normally would for regular pancakes, just take care so you don’t end up flinging raw batter across your stove-top from the uncooked side, lol.

WP_20131020_009

I made most of these plain but added a sprinkle of chocolate chips to a few and crushed Nutter Butter cookies to a few as they cooked on the first side. They were very good but in the end the plain ones were my favorite. I love crunchy peanut butter so this is what I used in the batter which gave it a nice texture. If you prefer, use smooth or if you only have smooth but want the texture, you could add in some chopped roasted peanuts. These are fairly forgiving and delicious whichever way you go. I served them with a pat of butter on the top which melted over the top and then some maple syrup.

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (PEANUT BUTTER PANCAKES PDF)***

Peanut Butter Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp. white granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. fine kosher or sea salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter + more for melting in your pan (4-6 more tbsp.)
  • ½ cup chunky peanut butter (use smooth if you prefer but I like some texture)
  • 1 12 oz. can evaporated milk (you can substitute milk if you prefer it just won’t be quite as rich)
  • ½ tsp. pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Place butter and peanut butter in medium glass microwavable bowl and microwave on half heat for about one minute or until it is softened (it’s OK if it’s melted, you just don’t want it to be too hot because you will be adding egg to it and you don’t want that to scramble)
  • Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl
  • Mix the egg and half the evaporated milk into the butter/peanut butter mixture and mix to fully incorporate
  • Add the wet mixture to the flour mixture and mix until just combined. Add the remaining evaporated milk as needed. You will most likely use the whole can but it depends on how thick you like your pancake batter. Keep in mind these brown very quickly so you don’t want them TOO thick or they will burn before they are cooked through.

WP_20131020_001

  • Let the batter set for 5 minutes undisturbed
  • Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium heat. (I like to get my pan to temperature well before I am ready to make my pancakes so that they cook evenly).
  • Melt 1 tbsp. of butter in your skillet or 2 on your griddle
  • Pour a ladle full of batter into the center of the skillet (or two pancakes on your griddle pan) and cook on the first side until the edges begin to look dry, about 4-5 minutes. Be careful not to overcook, these brown quickly!

WP_20131020_002

  • Sprinkle on any additions you may choose to use right after ladling in the batter (i.e. chocolate chips, peanuts, cookie bits, etc)

WP_20131020_004

WP_20131020_005

  • Flip carefully and cook on the second side for another 4 minutes
  • Keep warm in a 200 degree F oven or on a foil covered plate while you prepare the remaining pancakes

WP_20131020_006

*Variations: add chocolate chips, add crushed Nutter Butters, top with fruit syrup or heated jam for a PB&J pancake

6 responses to “Peanut Butter Pancakes

  1. Omg, peanut butter and pancakes. I have never thought of that combination. I must try this next time. Thanks so much for giving me this brilliant idea. Have a great week!

  2. How did I miss this post? Gotta make ’em. And I have a special pan for making pancakes. You can only make one at a time, but the pan flips over so you don’t have to take a chance on flipping the pancake out on the floor, something I’m rather famous for. And now I have another way to use my fruit syrups. I’m so excited. Now I have to go cut up some collards.

Leave a Reply

