Baked Cheesy Sausage Grits and Eggs


I feel so lucky to have had a few mornings with time for a good home-cooked BREAKFAST this week! Although, as you all know by now, I will never shy away from making breakfast for dinner if I’m feeling so inclined but this was actually made in the morning (technically, it was like 11:30 by the time we ate… but it still counts!).

WP_20131110_014[1]

This is a recipe created by looking in the pantry and fridge and deciding to put some things together. I thought that I had old-fashioned grits when I set out to make this but turns out all I had was instant but that didn’t stop me- I was already in too deep for that. Instant grits worked out just fine here. So the idea was to mix some cheese (smoked Gouda), some crumbled sausage left over from my McGriddle escapade and make grits. But then I thought I’d quite like some eggs with my grits. Then I thought, why not cook it all together? But I didn’t want the eggs baked into the grits, I wanted a runny egg yolk all over my grits.  So I made the grits on the stove, spread them out in the skillet and made 4 wells for  4 eggs, cracked them in and baked the whole thing. I thought about just covering the pan and allowing the eggs to cook from the steam and heat but I thought the oven would lend a nice dry heat to the mix and give the grits some crusty bits at the edge and get the eggs just set. Yum.

Or at least they were supposed to be “just” set, I will admit I overcooked them and the yolks were not the runny delight I had been dreaming of but the dish was delicious nonetheless! So yea, the eggs will look like they need more time but be careful to take them out when the white is just set. I will be making this again, with more careful monitoring, so that I can get the runny-egg-yolky-grits I am still craving. The grits on their own were delicious however so there were no complaints at breakfast.

Somehow I was out of bread to toast and serve with this so I decided to make some biscuits! I made cream biscuits because they are super easy to put together and I had all the ingredients on hand! You can check out my Cream Biscuits and Sausage Gravy post for detailed instructions on making these biscuits. They were a fine accompaniment to these grits (just imagine how good they would be with some runny egg yolk, lol).

WP_20131110_006[1]

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (CREAM BISCUITS PDF)***

Cream Biscuits

(Adapted from American’s Test Kitchen: Family Cookbook)

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour, plus extra for dusting
  • 2 tsp. granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. kosher or sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • ½ cup shredded cheese, optional (cheddar, gouda, or whatever you like)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees F with rack in the upper-middle position
  • Line a baking sheet with a non-stick mat or parchment paper
  • Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together in a large bowl
  • Stir in the cream with a wooden spoon until the dough just comes together in a rough mass, about 30 seconds (don’t over-mix!)
  • Dump out onto a lightly floured counter or board and gather into a ball with your hands (lightly dust hands in flour as well)
  • Knead the dough gently and briefly until smooth. This should only take about 30 seconds
  • Pat the dough into a 3/4-inch thick disc
  • Using a 2 1/2 inch biscuit cutter dipped in flour, cut the biscuits, 3 or 4 the first time then gently reform dough and cut again. Repeat until dough is used up. Push the cutter straight down into the dough and avoid twisting as this will mash the layers together. Alternately, you could cut the dough into 8 wedges (kind of like scones)
  • Place the biscuits on the baking sheet
  • Bake until golden brown, about 15 minutes
  • Brush with butter afterwards if desired (although this is not necessary at all if serving with gravy)

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (BAKED CHEESY SAUSAGE GRITS WITH EGGS PDF)***

Baked Cheesy Sausage Grits with Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz. shredded cheese, gouda, cheddar or Monterey jack
  • 4 oz. instant grits (4 little packets usually, or you could use old fashioned- you will just need to cook them longer before baking)
  • 2-3 cups whole milk or half and half
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • Olive oil
  • ½ lb. ground sausage
  • ¼ cup chopped green onions
  • Kosher salt and pepper
  • 4 large eggs

 

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F with the rack in the middle position
  • In a medium skillet over medium high heat, brown and crumble the sausage in a drizzle of olive oil
  • Remove sausage with a slotted spoon to a paper-towel lined plate
  • Reduce the stove-top heat to medium
  • Add 1 ½ cups milk to the skillet and bring to a low boil, stirring often to prevent scorching
  • Whisk in the grits until fully incorporated and lumps are whisked out
  • Stir in butter and cheese until melted
  • Add the remaining milk to reach desired consistency (remember if till firm up more upon baking)
  • Stir the sausage back in
  • Stir in the green onions
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste

WP_20131110_004[1]

 

  • Spread the grits out evenly in the skillet and make 4 wells with the back of your spoon
  • Crack one egg into a ramekin and gently pour into one of the wells
  • Repeat with the remaining three eggs
  • Sprinkle tops of the eggs lightly with salt and pepper

WP_20131110_005[1]

 

  • Carefully transfer the pan to the oven
  • Bake for about 10 minutes, carefully monitoring for doneness- remove from oven when the whites are just set
  • Allow to cool for a few minutes before serving

WP_20131110_008[1]

 

I have one more confession to make- I did NOT check my ingredients before beginning to cook and just assumed that I had plenty of eggs. When it came time to get my eggs ready to crack I realized I only had ONE egg… I had biscuits in the oven and was in my nightgown still so I wasn’t about to run out to the store… Luckily I have an amazing friend next door and a phone call later I was on my way over to grab three eggs from her in my coat and slippers! Thank you Karen! 😀

WP_20131110_011[1]

 

2 responses to “Baked Cheesy Sausage Grits and Eggs

  1. Are you sure you aren’t from the south? This looks so yummy.
    I finally got my blog back!!!! YAY! I’m so happy I could dance, but would probably end up on my butt on the floor, laughing my fool head off.

    • Lol yea I’m sure I’m not but I do like a lot of southern food! I’m glad to see you back online I was missing you! Don’t fall on the floor! 😉

Leave a Reply

