Mashed Potatoes


You can’t have Thanksgiving without mashed potatoes. Plain and simple. There is nothing about these mashed potatoes that is too fancy- I didn’t even peel them- because I like good old homemade sort-of rustic ones. These are creamy, buttery, flavorful and very moist. I hate dry potatoes.

WP_20131124_021

To achieve this, besides a good amount of butter, I added half-and-half and sour cream. The liquids are warm going into the potatoes and the butter is melted which helps keep them light and creamy. If you want them to be fluffier, try peeling the potatoes before cooking (or boiling whole and then sliding out of the skins) and passing through a ricer or whipping up in the bowl of a stand mixer. I don’t do these things for a couple of reasons. First I will tell you it’s because, as I said previously, I like rustic mashed potatoes. But the other sides of this, and I’m being honest here, with everything else going on Thanksgiving day I am trying to minimize the dishes and equipment I need to use (I have limited kitchen space and even less counter space, you see…). I wouldn’t say it’s laziness but you know, I only have so many hands! So I boil the potatoes (with crushed cloves of garlic), drain them and return them to the same pot, first to steam and dry out a touch (which helps them get fluffier), then I mash them, then I fold in the melted butter, warmed half and half, sour cream and seasonings. I like to add some dried parsley, kosher salt and black pepper and snipped chives or scallions. Good combo. You can mix in some turkey drippings or broth in place of some of the half and half if you wish. I did this a few years ago (with delicious results) only to realize that my brother’s girlfriend was a vegetarian and the potatoes were one of the only things at the meal she was going to be able to eat and I had gone and ruined that for her! And I haven’t added the drippings again since. Maybe I’m scarred for life. LOL. She wasn’t mad but I was frustrated with myself…

ANYWAY, now I just serve them with gravy! I will get to that in another post…

There are lots of ways you could change this basic recipe up besides your cooking method. You could add roasted garlic instead of boiling the potatoes with raw garlic. You can add some cheese, crumbled bacon or even stir in some chopped kale to hot potatoes! And if you have leftovers- potato pancakes! Hello!

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (MASHED POTATOES PDF)***

Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds of russet, Yukon gold or red potatoes
  • 5 cloves of garlic, crushed and peeled
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • ½-1 cup half-and-half, warm
  • ½ cup sour cream, room temperature
  • 1 tsp. dried parsley or 1 tbsp. fresh, chopped
  • Kosher salt and pepper to taste
  • ½ cup scallions, sliced (options)

Directions:

  • Cut the potatoes into halves or quarters, depending on their size and place them in a large saucepan with the garlic and cover with cool water by 1 inch. You can choose to peel the potatoes if you wish

IMG_3600

 

  • Cover and bring to a boil over high heat
  • Reduce heat to medium-low and boil for 20-30 minutes, or until potatoes are tender when tested with a fork or tip of a knife
  • Drain the water out of the pan and return pot to the heat (with the potatoes) and allow the potatoes to dry off for a couple of minutes, shaking the pan occasionally
  • Mash the potatoes with a potato masher until smooth
  • Fold in the melted butter, half-and-half, sour cream, parsley, scallions (if using) and salt and pepper to taste

IMG_3601

 

  • Serve immediately
One response to “Mashed Potatoes

  1. Yummy! That’s one thing I have no problems swallowing. And the gravy on them is even better. I always use a potato masher too, and I never peel any veggie, because most of the nutrients are in the peels. Gonna make them using this recipe. Never thought of using sour cream in them before, but I love sour cream, so that will be great.

Leave a Reply

