Snickerdoodles


I’m not sure if I had ever had a snickerdoodle before until I made these. Now I’m quite sure I will never go back to not including them in my regular cookie rotation. Think crunchier version of a sugar cookie, coated in a delightful mix of cinnamon and sugar that was reminiscent of donut-topping as I was making it. And the smell of these while they baked verged on maddening.

DSC_0290

Hot from the oven these were like heaven and once cooled down they firm up quite a bit to a nice crunchy, satisfying sweet-treat. And a wonderful addition to a holiday party tray. A friend of my told me these were his favorite cookie so I thought I should give them a try at some point. 🙂

I wasn’t sure quite how long to cook these. First of all, let me say that I made the dough, formed the balls, rolled them in sugar and froze them. So already the cooking time would have to be significantly longer than my recipe dictated. Also, like most sugar cookies, these don’t brown an awful lot by the time they are done. So I may have overcooked my first batch by a touch but still wonderful. I have more dough balls to bake off still and I think I will bake them a couple of minutes less. So I’m sorry to those of you who may have tried batch one and thought they were a bit on the hard side! Or maybe you liked them that way. Let’s go with that, lol.

DSC_0287

I used a recipe from the King Arthur’s Flour: Cookie Companion. This book as yet to lead me wrong. Very delicious, well-written recipes. After some research I read that some people prefer chewier snickerdoodles, others crunchier ones, others very soft ones so I guess this is a middle-of-the-road version which should satisfy most everyone and a good one to go with for my first try!

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (SNICKERDOODLES PDF)***

Snickerdoodles

(from King Arthur’s Flour: Cookie Companion)

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup (3 ¼ ounces) vegetable shortening
  • ½ cup (1 stick, 4 ounces) unsalted butter
  • 1 ½ cups (10 ½ ounces) sugar
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 large eggs
  • ¾ tsp. fine salt
  • 2 ¾ cups (11 ½ ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup (3 ½ ounces) sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F with rack in the center position and line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone mats
  • In a medium-sized bowl, cream together the shortening, butter, sugar, vanilla and baking powder, beating until smooth
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating until smooth and scraping down the bowl after each addition
  • Add the salt and flour gradually, mixing slowly until just combined

DSC_0188

 

  • Mix the sugar and cinnamon together in a shallow bowl (or large plastic bag)
  • Using a cookie scoop (or you fingers) portion the dough out 1 tbsp. at a time and roll it into a ball
  • Roll the ball in the cinnamon-sugar mixture

DSC_0190

 

  • Place on the prepared baking sheet and repeat until you’ve used up the dough, spacing the dough balls about 1 ½ inches apart
  • Using the bottom of a glass gently flatten each cookie to about ½ inch thick
  • Bake the cookie for 8 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges (they won’t brown a lot)
  • Remove from oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool after 5 minutes

These also freeze very well! I made my dough into balls and froze them so I could pull a few out at a time and bake them off so they would be fresh when I needed them! This was especially useful for this busy holiday season as you can get your dough making out of the way early (you know, the messy part) and bake your cookies up super fresh before you need to gift them or serve them at a party!

DSC_0198Dough was frozen as shown, them dough “discs” were transferred to a zip-lock bag and stuck back in the freezer until I needed them! Cook them directly from frozen, just keep an eye on them as they will take a little bit longer, more like 15 minutes instead of 8, depending on your oven.

 

5 responses to “Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Holiday Cookie Trays 2013 | therapy bread·

Leave a Reply

