Chewy Oatmeal Cookies


Another batch of cookies made for my Christmas cookie “menu” are these chewy oatmeal cookies and this one at the request of Dawn (my step-mother’s, brother’s girlfriend- I know it’s a mouth-ful but she’s such a sweetheart that I couldn’t say no to making these). These are chewy, full of raisins, walnuts and chocolate chips. I have finally found a good chewy oatmeal cookie recipe!

DSC_0495

I love the recipe I normally make which is out of The Art and Soul of Baking by: Sur La Table but this holiday season I’m on quite a roll with my trusty King Arthur’s Flour: Cookie Companion which is where the following recipe comes from (you know, slightly adapted). The one in Art and Soul is a bit softer and this one is on the chewier side so I’m sure I’ll use both, just depends on what I’m in the mood for I suppose!

The chocolate chips in here are totally optional, I just find that you should keep the TOTAL volume of added goodies the same as the dough can’t really support more than what is called for. So if you omit the chocolate chips, increase the raisins or add some dried cranberries, or leave them out. I think it’s OK to add LESS goodies than dictated just don’t go crazy adding more. I have done this before and the cookies became crumbly and didn’t hold up well at all. They still tasted good but they looked more like granola! Lol

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (CHEWY OATMEAL COOKIES PDF)***

Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

(adapted from King Arthur’s Flour: Cookie Companion)

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup unsalted butter
  • ½ cup vegetable shortening
  • ½ cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp. pure almond extract
  • ¾ tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • ¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. fine salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 large egg
  • 6 tbsp. light corn syrup
  • 2 tbsp. milk (not non-fat)
  • 3 cups quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
  • 1 ½ cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup raisins
  • ½ cup mini chocolate chips
  • ½ cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F with rack in the center position
  • Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone mats
  • In a large bowl, cream together the butter, shortening, sugars, extracts, spices, salt and baking soda, beating until fairly smooth
  • Beat in the egg, scrape the bowl, then beat in the corn syrup and milk
  • Stir in the oats, flour, raisins, chocolate chips and nuts

DSC_0158

  • Drop the dough by the tablespoon onto the prepared baking sheets about 1 inch apart
These aren't 1-inch apart because I froze them on a sheet like this and then stored them in a plastic storage bag

These aren’t 1-inch apart because I froze them on a sheet like this and then stored them in a plastic storage bag. I pulled out dough balls to bake as I needed them.

  • Bake the cookies for 11 minutes or until they’re lightly golden brown
  • Remove from oven, allow to cool on sheet for 5 minutes and transfer to a rack to cool

DSC_0499

5 responses to “Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Pingback: Holiday Cookie Trays 2013 | therapy bread·

  2. Hey! I made these cookies last night and I have to say; they are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever tasted!!

    As always, youre the best

Leave a Reply

