Dark Chocolate Kahlua Cookies


Rich and dark, sweet and spiked with espresso powder and Kahula liquor, what’s not the love? A friend of mine said of these after trying one that they were like “fudge” cookies so that will give you some idea of the texture achieved in this dense cookie and decadent glaze.

DSC_0509

I felt the need for for chocolate on my holiday cookie tray so these certainly fit the bill! Although I’m sure these won’t be limited to the holidays- they are right up my ally! You could switch up the flavor profile a bit by substituting Irish Cream or Grand Marnier in these cookies. Mmmm now I’m thinking about chocolate orange cookies, lol.

This recipe is (again) from King Arthur’s Flour: Cookie Companion. Yeah, it’s a great cookbook. This a very easy drop cookie but the flavor is anything but ordinary.

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (DARK CHOCOLATE KAHLUA COOKIES PDF)***

Dark Chocolate Kahlua Cookies

(Adapted from King Arthur’s Flour: Cookie Companion)

Ingredients for Dough:

  • ¾ cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • ¼ cup coffee liqueur (such as Kahlua)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. fine salt
  • 1 tsp. espresso powder
  • ½ cup Dutch process cocoa powder (the darker the better)
  • 1 ¾ cup unbleached, all-purpose flour

Ingredients for the Glaze:

  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 6 tbsp. heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp. coffee liqueur

 

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F with rack in the center position
  • Line two half-sheet trays with parchment paper or silicone baking mats
  • In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and brown sugar
  • Add the liqueur, egg, baking soda, salt and espresso powder, beating until smooth
  • Scrape down the bowl
  • Beat in the cocoa and flour

Spike Chocolate Cookie Dough

 

  • Using a tablespoon cookie scoop, drop the dough onto the prepared baking sheet about 1 inch apart
Again, these are placed so close together because I froze them this way for storage before baking...

Again, these are placed so close together because I froze them this way for storage before baking…

 

  • Bake for 12 minutes, or until they appear set and you can begin to smell the chocolate (you will not be able to notice them browning)
  • Remove from oven and allow to cool on sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool
  • While the cookie cool, heat the chocolate chips and cream in microwavable measuring cup or bowl at 50 percent heat, stirring frequently, until beginning to melt
  • Continue stirring until you’ve made a smooth glaze
  • Stir in the liqueur

DSC_0294

 

  • Spread or pipe the tops of the cooled cookies with the glaze
  • Allow to set before storing in an airtight container

DSC_0512

 

9 responses to “Dark Chocolate Kahlua Cookies

  1. Jess, there should be a law against putting something like this in front of a chocoholic like me. I wish I written down how I did it, but last year I made crock pot panetone bread pudding with Kahlua in it. Not sure why I made that comment, but guess it has to do with pain pills and Kahlua. Guess maybe I just want you to try writing that recipe for me.

      • All I can remember about it is the bread, Kahlua and several eggs and cream. But as usual I just didn’t write it down. Mostly because I was making it up as I went along I guess, and then, since I can’t remember my own name half the time, by the time it was finished and tasted, I couldn’t remember how I did it. Give it a try and write it all down so I can make it again some day when the shoulder stops hurting.

  2. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Countdown – Day 7 | ❤EAT ❤FOOD·

  3. Pingback: Holiday Cookie Trays 2013 | therapy bread·

Leave a Reply

