Butter Spritz Cookies


So maybe most of your are thinking that after my rant about the evil that is my cookie press, I would have had enough of it (for one season at least) with the Lebkutchen. Oh no, I had to go and make another. Well, to be fair, I set out to make these with the idea hat I could pipe them with a nice start tip, not anticipating just how THICK this dough would be. So yea, my original plan went out the window. Contemplating my options, I realized I could simply form into a log and slice but this didn’t seem nearly festive enough, based on what my hopes and dreams for this cookie had been. No, I would have to suck it up and deal with the cookie press again… I won’t go into my angst again, you can read about it in a previous post if you would like…

DSC_0421

These turned out to be a lovely and delicious addition to my cookie trays. A basic, buttery spritz, flavored lightly with vanilla and almond and baked until a bit crisp but still quite light in color. These tasted great on their own but I had melted chocolate left from drizzling truffles so I decided to dip half of each in bittersweet chocolate and then drizzle each with white chocolate. How, or it, you adorn these is up to you but this really took them to the next level. Something that may have otherwise have been somewhat overlooked among the other choices, suddenly became very appealing with it’s layers of texture and chocolatey-goodness.

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (BUTTER SPRITZ PDF)***

Butter Spritz Cookies

(Adapted from Anne Burrell: Cook Like a Rock Star “Tarallucci”)

Ingredients:

  • ½ lb. unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar, sifted
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp. almond extract
  • 1 ¾ cup unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • Melted White and/or dark chocolate for dipping/garnishing (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F with rack in the center position
  • Prepare two half-sheet pans by lining with either parchment or silicone baking mats
  • Cream together the butter and powdered sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment
  • Beat until light and fluffy then scrape down the bowl
  • Beat in the vanilla, almond and salt
  • Gradually mix in the flour until just combined

DSC_0382

  • Working in batches, transfer dough to a cookie press and form cookies according to your press’ instructions. Chill dough if it is too soft to form cookies

DSC_0386

  • Bake cookies 12-15 minutes or until lightly golden brown at the edges
  • Allow to cool completely, either on the sheets or on cooling racks
  • DSC_0393Dip in or drizzle with melted, tempered chocolate if desired, allowing to fully harden before storing in an airtight container

DSC_0418

5 responses to “Butter Spritz Cookies

  1. Pingback: Holiday Cookie Trays 2013 | therapy bread·

  2. Your cookie press problems remind me of my great squash battle with all of my food chopping utensils. I gave up and bought a new food processor. May be time for new cookie press? These are beautiful though, and sound really delish.

    • Thanks Angie! I think it is time for a new cookie press! I will have to research before I buy this time and see what models are “user friendly”! LOL. Squash battle huh? I can picture it now…

  3. You know, I’ve been meaning to use my cookie press; this is exactly the kind of motivation that I needed! These look soo good! I love the chocolate dipped spritz!

Leave a Reply

