Bloody Mary Flank Steak and Sauce


I do love steak. If you’ll remember back a few days I made Beef Lo Mein with flank steak. I only needed half of the piece of beef for that recipe so I had to figure out something to do with the remaining pound. Troy has been wanting to try this Bloody Mary Flank Steak out of one of Guy Fieri’s cookbooks so it seemed like a perfect opportunity. Doesn’t hurt that I had all of the ingredients on-hand already (except the vodka) so it was an easy thing to throw together.

DSC_0981

I know one piece of the meat is nice medium-rare and the rest closer to well-done. I broke one of my own rules and was rushing to get dinner on the table and had to throw the steak back on the heat because after the initial cooking in my haste I pulled it too early. Still delicious!

If you are a lover of the drink which is the namesake of this recipe then you must give this a try. The flavor really comes through and the sauce is divine. I will say that to me, I like the more “pure” taste of un-marinated steak or beef so I think I would prefer the steak grilled or seared without prior marination but then dipped in this sauce. As I said before, the sauce is divine. So, if you are like me, then you might prefer to just make a bunch of the marinade, reduce it and use it just as a sauce. I wouldn’t even cut back on the amount you make if you go this route because trust me, you will like it! To clarify that, in the following recipe you make a batch of marinade and use half for the beef and half to reduce as a sauce. So I’m saying if you prefer not to marinade then just reduce the whole batch. My guess is that will yield about 2 cups of sauce after reduction. And it will keep in the fridge for a few days. I’m planning on using some of mine on burger! YUM!

 

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (BLOODY MARY FLANK STEAK AND SAUCE PDF)***

Bloody Mary Flank Steak and Sauce

(Adapted from “Bloody Mary Flank Steak” in Guy Fieri Food: Cookin’ It, Livin’ It, Lovin’ It)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vegetable juice
  • ½ cup vodka
  • 1 tsp. kosher or sea salt
  • 1 tsp. fresh ground black pepper + extra for seasoning
  • 1 tsp. hot sauce
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 tsp. ground celery seed
  • 1 tbsp. prepared horseradish
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 lb. flank steak

Directions:

  • In a medium bowl mix all of the ingredients together except for the flank steak

DSC_0972

 

  • Pour half the marinade into a 1-gallon plastic storage bag. Add the flank steak and seal the bag. Marinate in the refrigerator for 8-24 hours
  • Store the remaining marinade until just before cooking the steak. At that time pour it into a small saucepan over medium-high heat and simmer until it is reduced by half, 10-15 minutes. Season to taste

DSC_0978

 

  • Meanwhile, remove steak from the refrigerator 20 minutes before ready to cook. Then preheat a grill, grill-pan or skillet over high heat
  • Wipe excess liquid from the flank steak with paper towels (discard remaining marinade that was used for the meat)
  • Grill or pan-sear flank steak on both sides, then lower the heat to medium and cook to desired doneness (medium-rare recommended: 135 degrees F, about 8-10 minutes)
  • Remove steak from the grill or pan and allow to rest, covered in foil, for 5-10 minutes. Cut the steak on the bias across the rain and serve with the warm, reduced marinade

DSC_0980

 

Leave a Reply

