Chocolate Oreo Milkshake


Sometimes you just need chocolate. And maybe you just want to drink it through a straw- since partaking of it intravenously seems like a poor life choice.

DSC_1246

That was me this afternoon. I could think of no better solution that to use some of my extremely rich and intense deep chocolate gelato as the base. For good measure, I threw in a handful of Oreos, drizzled the inside of the glass with chocolate syrup and topped the whole thing with some homemade whipped cream and an Oreo. OMG.

Can I also mention that I was super impressed that the chocolate gelto was nearly frost free, after sitting for 5 months in the back of the freezer?? I have NO idea how I had any left because I love it so. I can only guess it’s because I went too ice-cream-crazy this past summer and ice-creamed my self out and dove right into fall baking and never looked back. I’m glad I found the remnants of it- which were just enough to make some of this liquid heaven.

Do make sure you use intense, high-quality ice cream as the base for your milkshakes. They will never be intense and flavorful if the ice cream you start with is not.

You could certainly use vanilla instead with some Oreos. I’m sure I’ll be trying that next time I have some leftover homemade vanilla bean ice cream.

Below is a basic milkshake recipe. For the one I described above: use dark chocolate ice cream or gelato, Oreos, drizzle chocolate syrup into your glass and top with whipped cream and a cookie half.

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (MILKSHAKE PDF)***

Milkshake

*Makes one large milkshake

Ingredients:

  • 3 generous scoops of good-quality ice cream, left out at room temperature for 10-15 minutes to soften slightly*
  • 2-4 ounces of milk (whatever milk or half and half you prefer), depending on how thick or thin you would like (OR liqueur of choice such as Bailey’s or Kahlua)
  • Add in’s: 4 roughly crushed cookies, candy bar pieces, ¼ cup roughly chopped fruit, etc. You preference, optional
  • Chocolate syrup for the glass, optional
  • Whipped cream, optional

Directions:

  • Chill glass in the freezer for about 20 minutes
  • Blend ice cream, milk until smooth
  • Blend in your add-ins

DSC_1236

 

  • Drizzle chocolate syrup into your glass if desired (put a thick line parallel to the lip of the glass just below it and allow it to drip down into the cup)

DSC_1239

 

  • Pour in milkshake and top with whipped cream if desired. Serve immediately

DSC_1244

 

*Be sure ice cream is slightly softened or you will have to add too much milk to thin it out. However, do not allow it to melt

4 responses to “Chocolate Oreo Milkshake

Leave a Reply

