Banana, Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies


The name is a mouthful, I know. But a delicious mouthful. These cookies fall somewhere between soft and chewy and have a nice wholesome bite to them from the addition of rolled oats and whole wheat flour. That is not to say that they are “healthy” cookies, I added those things because I love the texture and taste of whole wheat with banana. Just like I add whole wheat to my banana bread. I wonder if I should try adding oats to my banana bread sometime… Hmm…

DSC_0213

You don’t have to add whole wheat flour if you don’t want, just use all-purpose it will be just as good.

Anyhow, the base for these cookies is made by creaming together butter, creamy peanut butter, light corn syrup and two types of sugar. I use white sugar and brown sugar so you get the benefits of both- structure and sweetness from the white and moisture and flavor from the brown. The brown will also help them to spread a little bit. You want them to spread a bit to get a chewy cookie but you also don’t want them to turn into one giant thing cookie. I have been there and done that. It was still delicious broke into chunks and eaten “granola style” but wasn’t really the same as a cookie. The first time I made these I used only white sugar and the cookies were a bit more on the “cakey” side, although still delicious. You can go that route if you wish. I added corn syrup because I noticed when I add it to regular oatmeal cookies it helps achieve that chewiness! These aren’t super-chewy, like I said they are somewhere between cakey and chewy.

The peanut butter taste in these cookies is subtle so don’t expect an in-your-face peanut butter and chocolate experience. I like the subtly of it in the background as it adds a lot of “character”. You can up the ante on this flavor if you want but adding peanuts as your nut of choice during baking and/or some peanut butter chips! I might try this sometimes. I think my Dad would even be able to “stomach” these cookies since the peanut-butter-chocolate combo isn’t in your face (he HATES peanut butter and chocolate together, crazy, crazy man…). So HAPPY BIRTHDAY Dad, peanut butter and chocolate you might actually like. Yes, today is actually his birthday. 🙂

This recipe is kindof a collaboration of different recipes I read and techniques I have used in the past so I wouldn’t really say I “adapted” it from any ONE recipe in particular. I did get a lot of inspiration from two recipes : “Banana Oatmeal Cookies” over at allrecipes.com and from “Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies” on cookingchannel.com. Neither of these use peanut butter, whole wheat flour, corn syrup or brown sugar so I felt it was necessary to create my own recipe. I’m sure they are both quite delicious themselves though.

In the end, this is a wonderful alternative to banana bread when you need to use up some overripe bananas, which i did. And I just made banana bread a couple of weeks ago, which was delicious, but I was in the mood for something new. These cookies are delicious fresh from the oven but even more so after cooling, in my opinion, when they are a bit chewier. I have a feeling these won’t last very long…

DSC_0219

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (BANANA, PEANUT BUTTER & CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES PDF)***

Banana, Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup granulated white sugar
  • ½ cup light brown sugar, packed
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp. light corn syrup
  • 2 medium overripe bananas
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract (or vanilla bean paste, which is what I used)
  • 1 ¾ cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour, optional (use an additional 1/2 cup all-purpose if you prefer)
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. fine kosher or sea salt
  • ½ tsp. ground nutmeg
  • ½ cup finely chopped nuts (walnuts, peanuts, pecans or a combination of them)
  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F with rack in the center position (if you wish to cook two trays at a time put racks on upper and lower middle positions). Line 3 sheet pans with parchment paper or silicone baking mats
  • In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the sugars, butter, corn syrup and peanut butter until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes
  • Mix in chunks of the bananas (just break the bananas into chunks with your hands after peeling), the egg and the vanilla and mix until incorporated with small pieces of banana still visible. Scrape down the bowl

DSC_0200

  • In a separate large mixing bowl mix together the rolled oats, flours, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg

DSC_0201

  • In two additions, mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients with the mixer on low speed. Mix until just incorporated and then scrape down the bowl
  • Fold in the nuts and chocolate chips with a spatula until just combined

DSC_0202

  • Using an ice-cream scoop or cookie portioner, drop dough onto the sheets about 1 ½ inches apart (12 per sheet)
I know I said 12 per sheet but this was my last tray and somehow I was a bit short on dough... Too much "taste-testing" I suppose LOL

I know I said 12 per sheet but this was my last tray and somehow I was a bit short on dough… Too much “taste-testing” I suppose LOL

  • Bake until just golden brown, about 15-18 minutes. If cooking two sheets at a time, rotate sheets top to bottom and front to back halfway through cooking time, which will be closer to 22-25 minutes

DSC_0206

  • Remove from oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes on sheets before transferring to wire racks to finish cooling. Store in air-tight container

DSC_0207

DSC_0211

 

14 responses to “Banana, Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I think I could live on the cookie dough alone Jess. This looks so yummy. Now think ice cream with these crumbled in it. (It’s starting to warm up around here) It’s a good thing I just ate or I would be licking the screen.

Leave a Reply

