Mexican Pulled Beef and Rice with Black Beans


I was scrolling through my WordPress reader a few weeks ago and saw some delicious looking shredded beef. It doesn’t help that I was hungry already but I knew that I had to have it. Especially after I read that it was “mexican” style. This shredded beef is supposedly a knock-off recipe for something served at a chain called Cafe Rio, which I have never heard of let along eaten at, but that didn’t stop me. Chuck roast cooked in your pressure cooker with enchilada sauce, tomato sauce, onion, garlic, cumin and some beef stock= a yummy burrito filling! Especially with some Mexican rice with black beans, which I also made. Or you could eat this over the rice in a bowl, which I also did. Teehee.

DSC_0267

I adapted this recipe from “Cafe Rio Beef” on a lovely blog here on WordPress called Foray into Food Storagehosted by Laurel. Thank you for inspiring me Laurel this was delicious! I wish that I had a Cafe Rio somewhere near me so that I could try the original. I didn’t change a whole lot from her recipe, other than the cut the sauce ingredients in half because it made a TON of sauce and I wouldn’t make that much next time. You can make this spicier if you want by adding some cayenne but I didn’t opt to do that. I also thought about slicing some peppers and adding them to the sauce as well but figured I’d keep it simple this time. Also, you can take the sauce, once you remove the meat, and put it through a fat separator. I don’t have one of those devices still for some reason so I didn’t but there is a lot of fat left from the beef roast so if you have one, go for it! Then, return sauce to the pan to reduce.

To go along with this beef I figured I needed some rice. I love Mexican rice. So to change it up a bit this time, I made a Mexican rice with diced tomatoes, green chilies and black beans. To freshen the flavors up, I mixed in some chopped cilantro and fresh lime juice after cooking. Yum yum! Do make sure you rinse your black beans unless you want very muddy looking rice, although it will still taste good. This makes a rice on the spicy side, at least to me, so cut back on the cayenne if you prefer.

I started out by serving myself a bowl of rice with some beef over the top and a ladle-ful of the reduced sauce. This was delicious. But I have to tell you that I also made a burrito with all of the same ingredients inside along with some sour cream and this was AWESOME. I recommend putting this all in a flour tortilla. Nom nom.

DSC_0271

DSC_0274

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (MEXICAN RICE WITH BLACK BEANS PDF)***

Mexican Rice with Black Beans

(Adapted from “Black Beans and Rice” on allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3/4 cup uncooked white rice
  • 1 cup low sodium chicken stock
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, or to taste
  • 1 10 oz. can diced tomatoes with green chilies, do NOT drain
  • Kosher salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 1 15 oz. can black beans, rinsed and drained thoroughly
  • ¼ cup fresh cilantro, chopped, or to taste
  • Juice of a lime

Directions:

  • Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat
  • Add the onion and garlic and sauté for 4 minutes, or until the onion is translucent and the garlic is fragrant
  • Add the rice and sauté for another 2 minutes, stirring occasionally

DSC_0254

  • Add the vegetable broth, tomatoes, cumin, cayenne and a sprinkle of both salt and pepper and bring to a boil

DSC_0255

  • Reduce heat to medium-low, cover and let simmer to 20 minutes
  • Stir in the black beans, cilantro and lime juice. Check for seasoning and adjust to taste

DSC_0258

***PRINTABLE RECIPE (MEXICAN PULLED BEEF PDF)***

Mexican Pulled Beef

(Adapted from “Café Rio Beef” on http://forayintofoodstorage.com/2014/03/29/knock-off-recipe-test-cafe-rio-beef-in-a-pressure-cooker/)

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 pound Chuck Roast
  • 2 tbsp. canola or vegetable oil
  • 1 10 oz. cans green enchilada sauce
  • 1 tsp. beef stock concentrate (or 1 bouillon cube dissolved in the ¼ cup water listed below)
  • ¼ cup water
  • 1 8-ounce can of tomato sauce (to taste)
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 small onion, halved and sliced
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, minced or put through a garlic press
  • Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Allow roast to come to room temperature and pat dry with paper towels. Season both sides liberally with salt and pepper

DSC_0251

  • In a large mixing cup mix together the beef stock concentrate, water, cumin and tomato sauce. Stir to incorporate the beef stock concentrate
  • Heat 2 tbsp. oil in pressure cooker WITHOUT lid over-medium high heat
  • Brown the roast on both sides in the hot pan

DSC_0252

  • Add the onions and garlic
  • Pour the enchilada sauce and tomato sauce mixture over the beef and vegetables

DSC_0253

  • Put the lid on your pressure cooker and allow to come up to pressure over medium-high heat
  • Once at pressure, lower heat to just maintain pressure (for me this is at medium-low heat) and cook for 40 minutes
  • Remove from heat and allow pressure to release naturally
  • Remove lid, remove meat and to a large bowl or plate and pull the beef apart with two forks

DSC_0256

DSC_0257

  • Return the pressure cooker to high heat (without the lid) and reduce the sauce for 10-15 minutes, or until reduced by half or to desired thickness

DSC_0260

  • Serve meat over rice with reduced sauce if desired. Also great served in burrito shells with rice or on a roll as a sandwich

 

 

13 responses to “Mexican Pulled Beef and Rice with Black Beans

  1. Jess, I read this one also, but I like your list of ingredients better. Of course, I’ll put my own twist on it too, but I love pulled meat of all kinds. So much easier for me to eat without getting choked.

    Having a portobello burger tonight, making croutons, taking a short break right now. See ya tomorrow.

    • LOL. Yes I suppose it will be easier for you to eat in that case. A portobello burger sounds delicious. I haven’t had portobellos in a long time…

  2. Ok sweetie I love Mexican food and really don’t know of a good restaurant in my neighborhood! So with that being said I have to try this recipe. Looks sooooo good! Thanks for sharing it! Hugz Lisa and Bear

  3. Pingback: Chinese Fried Rice | RecipeReminiscing·

Leave a Reply

