Hummingbird Cake Revisited: Rose Buds with Cream Cheese Filling


Ok so there’s really no new recipe here but I had to share what I did with my original Hummingbird recipe for Mother’s Day!

DSC_0558

Let me start by saying I am super excited that I actually get to see my mom or Mother’s Day because I rarely get to spend any holidays with her as she lives 10 hours away from me and if just never seems to work out. SOO when I made the hummingbird cake for Easter I had in the back of my mind that she would LOVE this cake. It’s a cake that’s easy to transport so that also made it a contender for Mother’s Day. I was shopping at TJ Maxx and I found an amazing piece of Nordic Ware that is kindda like a muffin tin but it has rose-bud-shaped holes for the batter. 12 of them, so you end up with a dozen roses but of dessert! Amazing. Of course I bought it. That was months ago but now seemed like the perfect time to break it in. Awesome, just awesome. You can buy it on amazon.com as well but let me just say that I got a deal on it by finding it at TJ Maxx. Love that store.

So I thought that covering these perfectly beautiful rose bud cakes with cream cheese frosting would be a crime. It would defeat the whole purpose. But I didn’t want to be missing that component entirely so I used my handy cupcake plunger and made a hole in the bottom of each rose bud into which I piped some cream cheese frosting and then plugged the hole back up. I made a very thin sugar and milk glaze with a bit of lemon juice squeezed in and drizzled that over each one for good measure.

You can get the recipe for the cake and frosting in my original Hummingbird Cake post. You will only need to make half of the frosting to fill the cakes however. I added 1/2 cup of shredded coconut to the recipe this time and subbed in 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the granulated sugar. It was delicious! Awesome as originally written as well so it is really up to you!

DSC_0550

DSC_0552

I ended up freezing these so that they would defrost as I drove down to visit my mom which worked wonderfully. It allowed me to give her moist, delicious treats days after baking. She is always jealous of the people who live near me who get to me my “guinea pig” for all of these recipes so I’m always happy when I can actually share with her. After all, she is the first person who ever taught me a thing about baking. Happy Mother’s Day Mom! I LOVE YOU!!!

DSC_0556

5 responses to “Hummingbird Cake Revisited: Rose Buds with Cream Cheese Filling

  1. Jess, they are beautiful. I’m going to make a strawberry yogurt banana bread for my mom, but will wait until tomorrow to make it, because freezer space is limited here. Wish I had those pans though. That would make beautiful personal sized bread muffins.

Leave a Reply

